What Makes a Great Cartoon


There are some great cartoons and some crappy cartoons. There are some great one’s such as: Steven Universe, Gravity Falls, Star VS The Forces of Evil, and Avatar The Last Airbender. And there are some crappy cartoons such as: Teen Titans Go, Pickle and Peanut, Annoying Orange, or even Ren and Stimpy. But what is it that makes a great cartoon? The animation, the art style, the shading and the acting, to name just a few. Oh yeah and an INTERESTING plot. Why are the great shows I listed so awesome? Here’s why:

For starters the animation is stunning! The art Style is appealing. The movements are smooth and graceful. The fight scenes are epic! The shading is there. The type of animation the show has is also part of the representation of the type of cartoon it is. Not just if it is considered “attractive” or not, but also if the show is more simple and comedic or more detailed, emotional and or dramatic. Usually a simpler show has simpler animation and designs  and a more detailed show has more detailed animation and designs.

Next is character development. Why is it so important? Because if the characters learn nothing at the end then I feel like I wasted my time watching it. If they don’t learn anything I think “What’s the point of the episode then?” And I don’t mean learning math or any academic things. I’m talking about morals or maybe characters learning about each other by interacting with each other. If the characters are bland and boring or if they are all just complete idiots in the end, I’m sorry but it’s not funny or cute. It feels senseless. I would have more respect for Teen Titans Go if the characters at least learned some things at the end of each episode but they don’t. The animation is lazy. The plots are boring and the characters learn NOTHING.

And last but not least the story itself! Avatar: The Last Airbender is a series that leads up to a beautiful finale. (I don’t wanna spoil it for you if you haven’t seen it.) It is full of morals and emotions and characters that make sense! Not only do they have kick ass fight scenes, but the way that their stories unfold are told beautifully! The smarter and more complicated the story is the more intrigued your audience will be. If it’s bland and boring and predictable, guess what? They will change the channel. Or at least I know I would. Thanks for reading this! Peace Out!

Author: justmytwocents95

I blog about various topics. Some are about me and some are about other things. They will not be organized into just one topic. . I prefer blogging over vlogging because I hate the sound of my voice. But I will try to keep my blogs interesting. Some random facts about me would that my sun sign is Cancer, my Moon sign is Pisces and my rising is Leo. I am an INFP. My favorite shows are Steven Universe, Teen Titans (The Original), Avatar: The Last Airbender and Batman The Animated Series. My favorite movie is Spirited Away. I also love fast roller coasters. Anyways thanks for reading this. I hope you enjoy my blogs. Let me know what you think. I am open to constructive criticism. Also if you do enjoy my blogs feel free to share, comment or like. It really helps me out. :)

Leave a Reply

